Featured post

Important Study Material for SSC CHSL 2017 GK and English pdf

Study Material for Upcoming SSC CHSL Exam 2017 Download free GK and Current Affairs from the SSC Portal. English and Quantitative Aptitude...


Free Online Test Series For SSC CGL 2016 Expert’s Tips and Tricks to Crack SSC CGL Exam | Preparation Tips

Renamed Indian cities

1. Chennai, formerly Madras, renamed in 1996
2. Jabalpur, formerly Jubbulpore, renamed in 1947
3. Kanpur, formerly Cawnpore, renamed in 1948
4. Kochi, formerly Cochin, renamed in 1996
5. Kolkata, formerly Calcutta, renamed in 2001
6. Mumbai, formerly Bombay, renamed in 1995
7. Puducherry, formerly Pondicherry, renamed in 2006
8. Thiruvananthapuram, formerly Trivandrum, renamed in 1991
9. Vadodara, formerly Baroda, renamed in 1974
10. Varanasi, formerly Benares
11. Guwahati, formerly Gauhati
12. Indore, formerly Indhur
13. Kozhikode, formerly Calicut
14. Panaji, formerly Panjim
15. Pune, formerly Poona
16. Sagar, formerly Saugor
17. Shimla, formerly Simla
18. Thanjavur, formerly Tanjore
19. Thoothukudi, formerly Tuticorin
20. Thrissur, formerly Trichur
21. Tiruchirapalli,formerly Trichinopoly or its shortened version, Trichy
22. Udhagamandalam,formerly Ootacamund or its shortened version, Ooty
23. Vijayawada, formerly Bejawada
24. Visakhapatnam, formerly Waltair and before that, Vizagapatnam or its shortened version, Vizag
25. Avantika to Ujjain
26. Vorugallu to Warangal
27. Cambay to Khambhat
28. Bulsar to Valsad
29. Bangalore to Bengaluru (change effective from 1 November 2006)
30. Bhopal Bairagarh to Sant Hirda Ram Nagar, Bhopal

Related Posts -

1 comment:

  1. thanks for sharing the inoformation about ssc cgl i have applied for SSC CGL Recruitment 2015 Notification


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...